Naked Pizza

When you grab mail out of your mailbox, it is unlikely that you are looking forward to weeding through the five-or-so takeout menus and coupons for local restaurants that were shoved in there when you weren’t looking. In an average week, I would say that I find at least 8 take out menus in my mailbox. I usually just recycle them immediately (those damn restaurants wasting all that paper!) but occasionally, if something catches my eye it may end up in a pile on the counter or even stuck on the fridge. This was most definitely the case when I came across a menu for Naked Pizza, a takeout/delivery only restaurant that offers “delicious, honest pizza with no freaky chemicals, based on the latest nutritional science.”

The menu itself caught my eye because of its colorful, clean look– seldom seen among menus for pizza places which are usually covered with giant pictures of food and massive test. Naked Pizza’s menu is delightfully simple and does not have any pictures of food, shocking for any take-out menu. It’s easy to read and, dare I say… fun to look at. It allows you to visually “build” your pizza from scratch, starting “naked” and “getting dressed up” with various “flora” and “fauna” instead of “meat” and “veggies,” how scientific! Isn’t that cute?

I was so mesmerized by the menu that I had to try this restaurant and see how the food actually tasted–clearly the marketing was spot on. Since I have an irrational fear of calling in take-out, I decided to use the website, which I was also extremely impressed by. It, like the menu, is simple, clean and easy to use. (Not to mention cheap!)

After doing a quick Google search, I discovered that Naked Pizza has totally exploded onto the scene in a matter of months, going from a single location in New Orleans to 450 stores in just over a year. This, to me, is totally mind blowing, especially since “Pizza Places” seem to be going out of style. I read up on their mission, which is admirable. Apparently, they only use fresh ingredients, whole grains and even probiotics to promote digestive health? What other pizza place does that?

When my food arrived (in less than 30 minutes, I might add) I was, again, impressed with Naked Pizza. They clearly have their marketing together as well as their quality. YUM!

Leave a Reply

