Scampo at the Liberty Hotel

I finally made it to this place after months of anticipation and left confused/disappointed. My boyfriend got a gift card to Scampo for Christmas and I’d been dying to go ever since. I remember driving by the location when I was a kid (you know… back when it used to be a JAIL) and being exceptionally creeped out even though there weren’t any prisoners inside anymore. I was expecting the innards of the hotel to look entirely refurbished but they actually left a lot of its original jail-like components in place, which was neat. I digress…

I made a reservation earlier in the week via Opentable and specified my boyfriend’s nut allergy as I always do. He’s allergic to most things, actually, (OK maybe that’s an exaggeration) but I usually only specify peanuts in the online reservations. Didn’t think we’d have any issues at a place this nice. I WAS WRONG. IT WAS A DISASTER. Here is what happened in chronological order:

My boyfriend mentioned the allergy as soon as we sat down to order our food. No problem. We ordered fondue to split as an app–I got lobster pasta and he got lamb pizza for the main.

The fondue arrives COVERED IN NUTS. The waiter plops it on the table and walks away without picking up on the fact that we were both staring at the fondue mouths agape

I glare in the general direction of the kitchen door until I caught the eye of our waiter (approx 1 minute later) 

He arrives at the table. “Is everything ok?” 

“No. It’s covered in nuts.”

“Oh. Uhh… Let me take care of that”

Suddenly, the management appears with two Caprese salads. They were decent, but not enough to quell our anger. They apologized, but not profusely (enough).

The nut free fondue finally arrives. It’s reasonably tasty but we’re still mad. 

The main course arrives. Also reasonably tasty. I wonder out loud if the first half of our meal is going to get comped as a result of the kitchen screw-up.

The check comes. NOTHING is comped. Not even the random Caprese salads we DIDN’T ORDER that were brought to the table in order to distract us from the waiter’s stupidity.

HONESTLY, WHAT KIND OF CUSTOMER SERVICE IS THIS? You could have KILLED a patron and gotten SERIOUSLY sued… and your management doesn’t even have the decency to comp the meal that almost killed him. Tsk tsk. 

When I was through talking to the management, I got that s**t comped. Not the whole meal, just the apps… Fair is fair right?

Moral of the story: Don’t go to Scampo unless you’re trying to die.

 

Leave a Reply

