Eastern Standard

One of the most popular upscale restaurants in Kenmore Square, Eastern Standard boasts fabulous cocktails, a massive wine list, and friendly, knowledgable wait staff. I love this place because of the atmosphere as well: the high ceilings, mirrored walls, and paintings of 1930’s stars have an “old school glam” vibe. It’s attached to the Hotel Commonwealth, an elegant hotel right in the middle of Kenmore Square.

My favorite thing on the menu? That depends on the season. Eastern Standard is a “farm to table” establishment (LOVE THIS) so the ingredients are seasonal. Across all seasons, though, they always have a delicious variety of hearty items on the menu.

Oysters are something I never miss out on here… They always have a fantastic, fresh selection. I’m picky with oysters; if I get a single grain of sand, it’s game over. You know that weird crunch when you get a grain of sand in your seafood? BLECHHHTTTT! AWFUL! It really ruins the meal for me, if not my entire day. Eastern Standard never disappoints in delivering sand-less oysters. I’ve eaten seafood at some of the “best” places around, and almost always find sand.

Eastern Standard is popular with locals and tourists alike. One winter evening, I found myself there for a few drinks. I went to the bathroom to relieve myself, and while sitting on the toilet I noticed a stunning pair of Jimmy Choo’s in the stall next to me. That must be one wealthy woman! I thought, while washing my hands. When I looked in the mirror I noticed a familiar face using the sink next to me. It took me a second, but I realized it was sharing the bathroom with one of the Real Housewives of New Jersey! I didn’t want to make a scene, so I smiled at her and walked out. My friends didn’t believe me, so I asked the waitress if she knew anything about it. “THEY’RE ALL HERE IN THE BACK ROOM!” she exclaimed, “I’m too starstruck so they wouldn’t let me serve them.”

Needless to say, we camped out by the front door until they left so we could catch a glimpse. Worth it.

Leave a Reply

